Stephen Curry Wins 2023-24 Magic Johnson Award

Golden State Warriors star Stephen Curry has won the 2023-24 Magic Johnson Award, announced by the Professional Basketball Writers Association (PBWA) on Wednesday.

The award is named after NBA legend Magic Johnson, who is seen as a perfect example for this honor. Over 200 writers and editors from the PBWA vote annually to decide the winner.

Since its inception in 2001, this award celebrates NBA players who not only excel in games but also show great cooperation and kindness towards media and fans.

Stephen Curry has now won this award twice; he first received it in 2016. Other players with two wins include Damian Lillard and Shane Battier. Ray Allen was the first-ever recipient of this accolade.

Finalists for This Year’s Award:

Besides Curry, other finalists included Bam Adebayo, DeMar DeRozan, Rudy Gobert, and Tyrese Haliburton. Notable past winners are Kevin Durant (2011), Dirk Nowitzki (2014), Pau Gasol (2015), Chris Bosh (2010), and DeRozan again in 2018.

Curry’s Stellar Performance:

In April, Curry was also named the 2023-24 NBA Clutch Player of the Year. He secured 45 first-place votes with a total of 298 points. DeRozan came second with 34 first-place votes and Shai Gilgeous-Alexander placed third.

Curry led several clutch categories: points scored (189), three-pointers made (32), and field goals made (59). His shooting stats were impressive too—49.6% from the field, 45.7% from beyond the arc, and an astounding 95.1% at free throws!

I think it’s amazing how consistent Curry has been over his career.

On February 3rd against Atlanta, he scored a career-high of 22 points just in the fourth quarter alone! That game marked his second career outing scoring over sixty points! Golden State played more clutch games than any other team that season—48 to be exact!

During the previous season, Curry bagged both J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award and Social Justice Champion title along with Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Trophy for his community service efforts

Coach Steve Kerr’s Recognition:

Warriors coach Steve Kerr also received recognition by winning PBWA’s Rudy Tomjanovich Award for demonstrating excellent cooperation with media & public—for third time!

The Magic Johnson Award wasn’t given out during years affected by COVID-19 pandemic i.e., in ’21 & ’22 due to unprecedented circumstances affecting all walks of life globally

James Shotwell
James Shotwell
James, a dedicated writer for BasketballHour, holds a degree in English and Creative Writing. A genuine sports enthusiast and skilled betting advice provider, he writes engaging articles and valuable winning strategies for sports.

Related NBA News